Renamed the Metropolitan Archdiocese of Colombo in 1886 by Pope Leo the XIII. This diocese was made out of the present diocese of Colombo, Diocese of Chilaw, Diocese of Kandy, Diocese of Badulla, Diocese of Kurunegala, Diocese of Galle and the Diocese of Ratnapura


  • Most Rev. Dr. Malcolm Cardinal Ranjith, Archbishop of Colombo
  • Most Rev. Dr. Maxwell Silva, Auxiliary Bishop of Colombo
  • Most Rev. Dr. J. D. Anthony, Auxiliary Bishop of Colombo
  • Most Rev. Dr. Anton Ranjith, Auxiliary Bishop of Colombo

Diocesan Director of Education

  • Rev. Fr. Gemunu Dias

Notable Schools

Name Year Location Age(in 2020)
St. Sebastian’s College 1854 Moratuwa 166
St. Benedict’s College 1865 Colombo 155
Good Shepherd Convent 1869 Colombo 151
St. Joseph’s College 1870 Grandpass 150
St. Mary’s College 1871 Negombo 149
St. Mary’s Boys’ English School 1871 Pettah 149
St. Lucia’s College 1880 Kotahena 140
Davisamara Vidyalaya 1884 Seeduwa 136
Our Lady of Victories Convent 1886 Moratuwa 134
Holy Cross College 1890 Kalutara 130
St. Joseph’s College 1896 Colombo 124
St. Lawrence’s Convent 1900 Colombo 120
St. Bridget’s Convent 1902 Colombo 118
Holy Family Convent 1903 Colombo 117
St. Peter’s College 1903 Negombo 117
All Saints’ College 1904 Borella 116
De La Salle College 1905 Mutwal 115
St. Mary’s College 1909 Dehiwela 111
Holy Family Convent 1910 Dehiwela 110
De Mazenod College 1914 Kandana 106
St. Anne’s Convent 1920 Wattala 100
Maris Stella College 1922 Negombo 98
St. Peter’s College 1922 Colombo 98
Holy Cross College 1924 Wattala 96
St. Anthony’s Convent 1927 Mutwal 93
St. Sebastian’s Balika MV 1928 Kandana 92
Good Shepherd Convent 1928 Nayakakanda 92
Christ King College 1930 Pannipitiya 90
St. Paul’s Balika Vidyalaya 1935 Kelaniya 85
Ave Maria Convent 1938 Negombo 82
St. John’s College 1939 Dematagoda 81
St. Anthony’s Balika MV 1940 Colpetty 80
St. Anthony’s College 1942 Wattala 78
Christ King College 1943 Tudella 77
Loyola College 1949 Negombo 71
St. Anthony’s Girls’ School 1951 Panadura 69
Good Shepherd Convent 1953 Panadura 67
St. Joseph’s College 1953 Nugegoda 67


  • Most Rev. Dr. Christopher Bonjean OMI, Archbishop of Colombo from 1886 – 1892
    Our Lady of Victories Convent, Moratuwa
    Holy Cross College, Kalutara
  • Most Rev. Dr. Andrew Melizan OMI, Archbishop of Colombo from 1893 -1905
    St. Joseph’s College, Colombo 10
    St. Peter’s College, Negombo
    Holy Family Convent, Colombo 04
    St. Bridget’s Convent, Colombo 07
    De La Salle College, Mutwal
    All Saints’ College, Colombo 08
  • Most Rev. Dr. Anthony Coudert OMI, Archbishop of Colombo from 1905 – 1929
    St. Mary’s College, Dehiwela
    Holy Family Convent, Dehiwela
    De Mazenod College, Kandana
    Maris Stella College, Negombo
    St. Anne’s Convent, Wattala
    St. Peter’s College, Colombo 04
    Holy Cross College, Gampaha
    St. Sebastian’s Convent, Kandana
    Good Shepherd Convent, Nayakakanda
    St. Anthony’s Convent, Mutwal
  • Most Rev. Dr. Peter Marque OMI, Archbishop of Colombo from 1929 – 1937
    Holy Family Convent, Wennappuwa
    St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa
    St. John’s College, Dematagoda
    St. Paul’s Convent, Kelaniya
    Christ King College, Pannipitiya
    Ave Maria Convent, Negombo
  • Most Rev. Dr. John Mary Masson OMI, Archbishop of Colombo from 1938 – 1947
    St. Anthony’s College, Wattala
    Christ King College, Tudella
    St. Anthony’s Convent, Colpetty
  • Most Rev. Dr. Thomas Cardinal Cooray OMI, Archbishop of Colombo from 1947 – 1976
    Loyola College, Negombo
    St. Anthony’s Convent, Panadura
    Good Shepherd Convent, Panadura
    St. Joseph’s College, Nugegoda
  • Most Rev. Dr. Nicholas Marcus Fernando, Archbishop of Colombo from 1977 – 2002
    St. Peter’s College, Gampaha
    St. Joseph’s College, Wattala
    Ave Maria Convent, Bolawalana
  • Most Rev. Dr. Oswald Gomis, Archbishop of Colombo from 2002 – 2009
    St. Peter’s College, Kurana
    Loyola College, Bopitiya
    Christ King College, Veliveriya
    Our Lady of Victories Convent, Wilorawatte
    Holy Cross College, Payagala
    Maris Stella College, Timbirigaskatuwa
    St. Joseph’s College, Negombo
    Holy Angels’ Convent, Payagala
  • Most Rev. Dr. Malcolm Cardinal Ranjith, Archbishop of Colombo from 2009 to date
    St. Thomas’ International College, Seeduwa
    St. Nicholas’ International College, Colombo
    St. Nicholas International College, Negombo
    Benedict the xvi Catholic Institute of Higher Education, Negombo