Diocese of Ratnapura


Erected as the Diocese of Ratnapura, separating from the territory of the Diocese of Galle 1995, the diocese is saffragan to the Archdiocese of Colombo.


  • Most Rev. Dr. CletusPerera OSB

Diocesan Director of Education

  • Rev. Fr. Jude Amila

Notable Schools

Name Year Location Age
St. Mary’s College 1867 Kegalle 153
St. Aloysius’ College 1898 Ratnapura 122
St. Joseph’s Convent 1910 Kegalle 110
Infant Jesus Convent 1924 Ratnapura 96
St. Agnes’ Convent 1930 Balangoda 90


  • Most Rev. Dr. Malcolm Ranjith, Bishop of Ratnapura from 1995 – 2001
  • Most Rev. Dr. Harold Anthony Perera, Bishop of Ratnapura from 2003 – 2005
  • Most Rev. Dr. Cletus Chandrasiri OSB, Bishop of Ratnapura from 2007 –