Erected as an Apostolic Vicariate, separating from the Diocese of Ceylon in 1883, which is now a suffragan Diocese. In 1886, it was promoted as the Diocese of Kandy. This diocese of was made out of the present diocese of Kandy and the Diocese of Badulla.


  • Most Rev. Dr. Vianney Fernando

Diocesan Director of Education

  • Rev. Fr. Camilus Janze

Notable Schools

Name Year Location Age
St. Anthony’s College 1854 Kandy 166
St. Xavier’s College 1859 Nuwara Eliya 161
St. Thomas’ College 1873 Matale 147
St. Thomas’ Girls’ College 1876 Matale 144
Good Shepherd Convent 1889 Kandy 131
Berrevaerts College 1905 Ampitiya 115
St. Scholastica’s Convent 1907 Kandy 113
St. Gabriel’s Convent 1930 Hatton 90
St. John Bosco College 1934 Hatton 86
St. Sylvester’s College 1940 Kandy 80


  • Most Rev. Dr. Clement Pagnani OSB, Bishop of Kandy from 1883 – 1911
    Berrevarts College, Ampitiya
    St. Scholastica’s Convent, Kandy
    St. Joseph’s College, Bandarawela
  • Most Rev. Dr. Bede Beekmeyer OSB, Bishop of Kandy from 1912 – 1935
    Little Flower Convent, Bandarawela
    St. Gabriel’s Convent, Hatton
    St. John Bosco’s College, Hatton
  • Most Rev. Dr. Bernanrd Regno OSB, Bishop of Kandy from 1936 -1958
    St. Sylvester’ College, Kandy
  • Most Rev. Dr. Leo Nanayakkara OSB, Bishop of Kandy from 1959 – 1972
  • Most Rev. Dr. Paul Perera, Bishop of Kandy from 1973 – 1989
  • Most Rev. Dr. Vianney Fernando, Bishop of Kandy from 1983 –