Erected as the diocese of Kurunegala, separating from the territory of the Diocese of Chilaw in 1987, the diocese is saffragan to the Archdiocese of Colombo.


  • Most Rev. Dr. Harold Anthony Perera

Diocesan Director of Education

  • Rev. Fr. Tharanga Dilekshika

Notable Schools

Name Year Location Age
St. Anne’s College 1867 Kurunegala 153
Holy Family Convent 1870 Kurunegala 150


  • Most Rev. Dr. Raymond Peiris, Bishop of Kurunegala from 1987 – 2009
  • Most Rev. Dr. Harold Anthony Perera, Bishop of Kurunegala from 2009 –