Erected as the Diocese of Chilaw, separating from the Archdiocese of Colombo in 1939, which is suffragan to the Archdiocese of Colombo. This diocese was made out of the present diocese of Chilaw and the diocese of Kurunegala.


  • Most Rev. Dr. Valence Mendis

Diocesan Director of Education

  • Rev. Fr. Dhanushka Fernando

Notable Schools

Name Year Location Age
St. Andrew’s College 1885 Puttalam 135
Holy Family Convent 1930 Wennappuwa 90
St. Mary’s College 1933 Chilaw 87
St. Joseph Vaz College 1934 Wennappuwa 86
St. Xavier’s College 1942 Marawila 78
Carmel Girls’ College 1943 Chilaw 77


  • Most Rev. Dr. Edmund Peiris OMI, Bishop of Chilaw from 1940- 1972
  • Most Rev. Dr. Frank Marcus Fernando, Bishop of Chilaw from 1972 – 2006
  • Most Rev. Dr. Valence Mendis, Bishop of Chilaw from 2006 –