Originally erected as the apostolic prefecture of Anuradhapura in 1975, the prefecture was created from the territory of the Diocese of Jaffna and the Diocese of Trincomalee & Batticaloa. The prefecture was elevated to a full diocese in 1882 and is suffragan to the Archdiocese of Colombo.


  • Most Rev. Dr. Nobert Andradi OMI

Diocesan Director of Education

  • Rev. Fr. Damian Perera

Notable Schools

Name Year Location Age
Swarnapali Balika Vidyalaya 1876 Anuradhapura 144
St. Joseph’s College 1898 Anuradhapura 122


  • Most Rev. Dr. Henry Goonawardena, Bishop of Anuradhapura from 1975 – 1995
  • Most Rev. Dr. Oswald Colman Gomis, Bishop of Anuradhapura from 1995 – 2002
  • Most Rev. Dr. Nobert Andradi OMI, Bishop of Anuradhapura from 2003 –